Home > The Modern Gentleman > The $300 Belt

The $300 Belt

“No Excuses!”

Well, that is what I hear as I try to convince myself of a worthy reason as to why I haven’t written in almost three weeks. Honestly, I have no excuse. However, during my stint of laziness, I’ve been meditating on an article which I read a while ago.

The article titled, “Who Are You?” (by Roy S. Johnson, Editor in Chief, Men’s Fitness/March 2011), presses the reader to take a look at ourselves completely stripped of the stuff and things that control our identity; such as what we wear, drive, eat, etc.. Then, when all else is gone, who and what is left?

      Ultimately, who we are is what we leave behind. Sure, you might have a will crammed with all kinds of stuff to leave your family and loved ones. But even if your estate is worth millions, it won’t be as valuable as you and how you touched those around you, how you taught those around you – by your actions and words
      Make sure you like you when there’s nothing else around.

Well put! But why bring it up? Because, in essences, this is the heart of the Modern Gentleman. Too many times am I needing constant reminders of what it means to take pride in “me.” Everyday, I have to ask myself, “What am I doing to invest in me?” And this question is the foundation of The Modern Gentleman.

(Read more, click here…)

Categories: The Modern Gentleman
  1. Brenda
    March 21, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    I have a son that is 34 and in Lubbock.He knows the lord very well but has strayed and I believe he is in alot of trouble with drinking and drugs.He works somewhere that sells fried chicken and fish.I pray every night for him to seek the lord again.I ask that the lord send someone to him.His name is Jason Wilson and I dont have much contact with him now.Please pray for him please.I know that with God he can overcome it all.He needs help.Thank you

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

